The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

P#1

There are several flaws in the reasoning of the argument stated above.

P#2

First, the argument should provide more detailed information in order to substantiate the evidence it used for its discussion. For example, the argument mentions that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village, but fails to provide further information that how much more. If the difference is too low, then we cannot ignore the probability of accident and this evidence may be not that persuasive.

Second, the resources of the evidence may be unreliable. For example, the material mentions that the people who conduct the survey are all graduate students who are nor professional. The lack of experience made them more likely to do their research in a wrong way such as didn’t select the children evenly, leading to a bias of the experiment.

P#3

Third, more aspects should be researched. For example, in the material they only observe the taking object but the growth of a child contains more aspects such as body language and so on. Children may learn things from adult’s movements rather than chatting. So, we cannot make this conclusion on by invest on the proportion of the object children speak to.

P#4

Lastly, the way of how they accounting number of object children talking to isn’t introduced. Maybe they interviewed children in a wrong way, leaving children too much pressure and inducing them to answer that they talk to parents more. Also, there would be probability that children accidently talk to parents more during the period they interviewed them, so the research should conduct in a long time to avert this happens.

P#5

So if the argument could consider all the aspects discussed, it would be more thorough and convincing.