The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that the children spoke about their biological parents more than they they did about about other adults in the village, this authors' argument does not make a cogent case for why DR. field’s approach is invalid and his correct as this argument is analogical, and not enough to invalidated Dr. Filed Approach.

Firstly, this author said Dr. Field research happened twenty years ago and his recently. He fails to acknowledge that a lot of changes could have occurred in this village that could have made the villagers change their style of rearing children. Likewise, given the time difference the population /sample are not similar.

Also, it isn't clear the questions the children were asked at the interview if it were centered about their parents, the other adult in the village or not. For such conclusion to be made more details about the interview question will be required. Also, it is not clear if the sample for the interview-base approach is large enough to make such conclusion and as such might not represent the larger population of the children.

Also, it is not clear if enough time were given to the interview-based approach as the observation-based approach which is usually extensive and time consuming.