The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The world is composed of many diverse cultures with unique practices. The practices of one

culture may perplex or astonish individuals from another culture. Naturally, some

practices of any culture become non-existent over time due to many factors. Dr. Karp,an

anthropologist, wrote in an article deeming the research on children of Tertia by Dr.

Field, a noted anthropologist, as invalid. It seems Dr.Field conducted a research twenty

years ago, by observing children on the island of Tertia. His observations concluded that

children in Tertia were not reared by their own biological parents. Dr.Karp conducted his

research by interviewing children living in the group of islands that include Tertia, and

came to a conclusion that the children were indeed reared by their own biological

parents. The argument that Dr.Karp raised against Dr.Field’s research creates several

problems because it assumes that Dr.Field’s research twenty years ago to be valid till

now, it fails to address why observation-centered approach to studying cultures are

invalid, Dr.Karp has conducted his research on a group on islands that include Tertia

causing false inclusion,it omits the following evidence: severity of interview questions,

environment of interview.

Dr. Karp’s article doesn’t take account of the fact that Dr.Field’s research was

carried out twenty years ago. Naturally over time cultures change and so do their

traditions. Dr.Karp assumes that Dr.Field’s is universally invalid for all time periods in the

case of rearing culture in Tertia. For example, many centuries ago Hindu religion had a

practice called sati, where they burned a widow while being alive on the fires of the dead

husband's corpse. Over time this changed due to unfair discrimination on women and

became non-existent. Similarly, the rearing culture in the island of Tertia, where the

village people have reared children, mentioned by Dr.Field may have vanished due to

some unknown factors not accounted for by Dr.Karp in his article.

Dr.Karp also fails to mention how research conducted on a group of islands that

include Tertia is the same as research being conducted only on the island of Tertia. For

example, if a research shows that the majority of Asians consume more beef doesn’t

mean that the majority of Indians consume beef. Dr.Karp mentions that since he

deemed Dr.Field’s research through observation as invalid, thus all observation based

research are universally invalid. Dr.Field is a noted anthropologist and the method of his

research cannot determine the value of his work. Even if one example in observation

based research is deemed wrong there is no evidence that it is universally wrong.

Dr.Karp mentions that his interview based research is being carried out by a team

of students. This questions the severity of his research, since Dr.Field was a noted

anthropologist means he has enough experience to record valid observations. But in

Dr.Karp’s case research was carried out by a team of students, clearly less experienced

than Dr.Field. Dr.Karp’s interview on children is questionable, since children are less

mature in general. For example, if a research is carried out on children regarding which

food is healthy out of vegetables and chocolate most children would answer chocolate,

even though vegetables are healthy. Children of the modern day are mostly reared by the

teachers rather than their own busy biological parents.

There are many invalid facts present in the article written by Dr.Karp to prove Dr.Field’s

research invalid. Dr.Karp has to come up with major research development regarding the

culture and history of Tertia to strengthen his argument to prove Dr.Field’s invalid.