The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by this author about the chid-rearing of Tertia fails to logically establish the basis of the argument itself by overestimating the validity of the author's own study with respect to Dr. Field's and making unfounded assumptions. Throughout the passage, the author fails to acknowledge several important factors concerning the study he conducted as well as Dr. Field's. In order to strengthen the argument, the author would need to adress the confouding variables of his own study and discuss concrete reasons other than his own personal opinion about Dr. Field's study.

Throughout the entire passage, the author does not go in depth to disucussing the evidence provided in his own interview-based study about the children of Tertia. Was the sample size ample enough to represent the entirety of the population? Were the questions during the interview presented in an unbiased fashion? If the children were coherced with questions from the interviewer that prompted discussion about their biological parents or probed for answers about their families, then it is of no suprise that the child would spend more time discussing their biological parents over other adults in the village. Similarly, if the children were asked questions about their neighbors or friends, it makes logical sense that the conversation would digress to persons other than the child's biological parents. These are only a few factors, none of which were presented in the argument, that may invalidate a study's conclusion. In order to strengthen the argument, the author would have to adress all of these key issues about his own study.

During the argument the author not only fails to prove the results of his own study, but also questions the results of Dr. Field's study in shallow depth with an obvious bias. In order to prove that Dr. Field's study was truly inferior to that of his own, the author would need to adress the exact methods of observation that Dr. Field used. Also, as the author mentioned that Dr. Field's study was conducted twenty years ago, which is ample time for the community of Tertia to evolve and introduce a new variety of variables which must be considered for the author's study that may not have existed during Dr. Field's time. Furthermore, dilatory results when comparing the two studies is not strong enough to prove that the observation-based approach is inferior or superior to the interview-based approach of study. The author would need to proove that the two studies share similar grounds to be compared with another.

In conclusion, the argument fails to provide enough evidence in order for the reader to establish an actual position about child-rearing in Tertia. Although the author clearly states his viewpoint, he does not support his perspective on this issue not his study with indisputable evidence. In order to strengthen the his argument, the author would need to adress the confouding variables of his own study and Dr. Field's study for comparison. Until the author adresses these issues, his conclusion will be of little use for evaluating the community of Tertia or any other community with his methodolgy.