Prompt: "The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.'

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

Although this author appears to have presented a logical argument of "cause-and-effect" nature, the passage fails to provide enough evidence to substantiate its claim that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will increase both viewer engagement and advertising contracts. In order to create a stronger argument about the affects of airtime for the weather and local news, the author would have to address specific details about both the changes in airtime of the programs and the complaints, confounding variables or other reasons as to why the commercials were cancled, and whether or not any change would actually promote the reinstatement of any of the advertising contracts.

Throughout the passage, the author devotes few sentences explaining exactly how the late-night news program changed the airtime of its weather and local news specials. Over the course of the year, how much time was taken away from these shows? Whether it was a matter of two minutes or two hours greatly infuences the impact that it had on the viewers routine schedules. Was the showtime dramatically decreased over the course of a day or slowly over the course of the entire year? If the programs changed suddenly, there could be a chance that the viewers did not have time to adapt to the new programs and, therefore, were inclined to change the channel. A more important question might ask where exactly the time cut from weather and local news went? Maybe it was not the lowering of weather and local news but rather the extra time spent on cooking or sports that did not resonate very well with the people. If this were the case, the author's argument would be significantly abased. Once the author specifies precisely how much time was cut and exactly where that time was then spent, he will establish a clear relationship between the programs and viewer engagement.

Assuming that the program times were decrased to a measurable degree and that the time was later spent on programs that the viewers did not despise, this would then prompt the evaluation of the complaints received by the television station from the viewers. How many complaints did the station receive? Is this sample size representative of the entire population or merely a few angry customers? What kind of complaints did the station receive? For example, one customer complaining about lack of weather would not be enough evidence to assume that all of the customers are unhappy about the new change. Qualitative data, such as that presented by complaints, is not nearly as effective in this situation as concrete evidence. Such evidence as statistics on the decrease of customer views during the programs and commercials would greatly strengthen the authors argument. Without more details about the nature of these complaints, few conclusions may be drawn about their significance.

In addition to validating that the complaints of the viewers, one could then ask the question of whether or not there were any other reasons why late-night news programs would have canceled advertising contracts? Did, for example, one of the companies discontinue an item that was being advertised? Was the company itself run out of business? There are a variety of other possible reasons that the advertising companies pulled their commercials from the station such as lack of funding and overall plan for the company. Maybe the business merely found that it had its money spent on advertisements were ineffective in brining in customers. Hence, even if the station were to restore the weather and local news times, who is to say that the change would even prompt the late-night advertisers to reinstate their commercials if a different factor caused them to cancel them from the beginning?

In conclusion, the author presents an argument that, although it may contain some logic, fails to dissect enough evidence in order to establish a conclusion. For now, the passage exists as a mere hypothesis of what the root of the problem may actually be. Until the author provides more exact details about the airtime itself, complaints from the customers, and the contracts from the advertisers, no real conclusions may be drawn to warrant the restoration of program times for weather and local news.