People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Task time: 30 minutes

Human emotions oftentimes influence our decision making. Whether we are contemplating splurging on the next groundbreaking piece of technology or choosing where to apply for college, we oftentimes rationalize our choices based on underlying murcurial assumptions. However, basing a decision solely on emotions and justifying those rash decisions later on with biased logic may be quite hurtful. Decisions, especially those of life-changing magnitude, should not be based on vacillating human desires due to the ability of these emotions to cloud true judgement, to make one vulnerability to be influenced by others, and to change in nature overtime.

Plato, eminent ancient Greek philosopher, describes the "Philosopher King" as being a wise, valiant person who transcends human will in order to be able to make sound choices that govern an entire community. Specifically, he emphasizes the ability of the philosopher king to exhibit clear judgement by not allowing his emotions to guide his decisions. If we are to allow our emotions to cloud this judgement, according to Plato, we ourselves will rule the nation of oneself astray as a poor decision maker. Therefore, al

In addition to emotions easily clouding judgement, they also allow us to become susceptible to the influence of others. Macbeth, famous character portrayed in one of Shakespeare's plays, quickly becomes influenced by his wife, Lady Macbeth, to murder the current king in order to take the throne. Later on in the story, Macbeth continually rationalizes his decision until it drives to be a mad man haunted by ghosts. High emotions may allow our minds to be easily persuaded to do make poor decisions based off of others.

Not only do decisions based on emotion make us vulnerable to the influence of others, but also make us vulnerable to our changing selves. Unlike inexorable mores and ethics, human emotion is known to change overtime. After driving a decision based of of one's own will, one may later find out that either the decision or the consequences of the decision are not what was expected. In history, this rashness may have been of great benefit in certain cases, such as that of Facebook inventor Mark Zuckerberg, who made the high stakes decision to drop out of Harvard to pursue the social media platform. However, successful outcomes like that of Zuckerberg are rare, and one may forget to mention the series of criminal charges Zuckerberg now faces due to the famous platform he created.

In conclusion, decision making not founded on true morals and guiding principles has the potential to be extremely harmful, especially for those who rationalize their decisions with subjective logic later on. Allowing oneself to be amenable to the changing winds of feelings allows one to become a victim to his decisions. Justifying those decisions later on with rational logic further defines a person as a poor decision maker.