The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

When instructing others, oftetimes it is difficult to determine the most effective approach. While some recommend that it is best to only praise positive actions and disregard negative ones, this methodology for teaching may cause serious problems down the line for the person receiving instruction. Although lauding positive actions has certainly been proven to increase the tendency of a certain action in an action-reward response, it may be just as ineffectve to ignore the negative actions. Merely encouraging the "good" and ignoring the "bad" is not the best way to teach others due to its ability to cause further problems in the future if the "bad" action is never supressed and possibility of hindering the improvement of the individual.

A child talking back to his mother or a a student blatantly disrespecting a professor are both actions that negatively impact the person whom they are aimed at. If these negative actions are merely ignored instead of reproached, they may cause harm to the mother, professor, and eventually the child or student who perpetrated it. If the child never learns that talking back to his mother is wrong or if the student is never aware of proper social conduct, this could translate into future problems for the child or the student down the line. If a child or student realizes that his negative actions are never deserving of any consequences during instruction, he may believe that this is always the case. Once thrown into a situation where he or she is independent of instruction, such as the workplace, the individual may be suprised to learn that consequences of his or her actions exist and suffer because of it.

Gabby Douglas, member of the "Fantastic Five" gymnastics team that won gold in the 2016 Rio Olympics, deeply reverenced her coach in an interview thanking him not for all of the times he praised her for getting the the move right, but for all of the times he instilled the drive in her to improve every time she got a move wrong. Ignoring all of these faults would have hindered Gabby from ever reaching the Olympics much less taking home a gold medal for the U.S. Some argue that bringing consequences upon someone due to negative actions may bring shame upon the child or lower his or her self esteem. In some cases, this may be true if the discipline is unfounded or over-implemented. However, the recommendation of igorance leaves the child or student unable to ever improve if the negative actions are never adressed.

In conclusion, there must be a balance between praising good actions and disciplining bad ones. If the negative action is ignored completely, this may cause future problems for the individual and hinder the growth or improvement of that individual for the future. Although encouraging good actions has been proven numerous times to increase the frequency of that action with an action-reward response, ignoring the negative actions may have devastating effects.