The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument, Dr. Karp uses the fact that the children belonging to a group of islands, including Tertia, spent more time talking about their parents rather than talking about other adults of the society as an evidence to state that his methods of research, ie. interview was the better in comparison to observation: the research methodology applied by Dr. Field. In addition to that, he also claims that Dr. Filed's research was an invalid one. However, in arguing so, he makes several assumptions that are based on shaky grounds which consequently makes the conclusions of Dr. Karp dubious.

Firstly, Dr. Karp presumes that the rearing of children presently, and the culture and traditions of Terita is consistent with how things were 20 years ago. Dr. Karp doesn't consider the fact that in the time period of two decades, multiple features of the village including the culture might have evolved in Tertia which might have lead to the possibility of disparity in the conclusion of their research. It is probable that while today, the biological parents on Tertia reared their offsprings, 20 years ago, when Dr. Field conducted his research, children were actually reared by the entire community rather than just their own biological parents. If Dr. Karp had provided evidence stating that what the children said in the interview conducted by the research team also applied for children 20 years ago, the anthropologist's argument would have been more plausible.

Furthermore, by comparing the results of research on Tertia alone, with results of a group of islands including Tertia, a hasty generalization has been made. No specific evidence has been provided that states that the culture and tradition of Tertia and the group of Islands are exactly the same. If it were to be found that while in the group of islands, children are reared by their parents only but in Tertia, children are reared by an entire village, the conclusion that Dr. Karp has come to would be on shaky grounds. Dr. Karp should have mentioned or considered that the result of research concerning rearing might be different than what he found as Tertia is just a part of the group of islands, not the island itself. Had there been such evidence included in his article, his argument would seem more likely to be acceptable.

Moreover, Dr. Karp makes a hasty generalization by concluding that interview is a superior method or research rather than observation just based on the comparison of mere two experiments. Even if Dr. Karp's conclusion were true and Dr. Field's were faulty, that one case cannot be used to stereotype observation as an inferior research methodology. Had Dr. Karp provided more evidence regarding the significantly large number of cases where observation had yield faulty result and interview hadn't, the argument of Dr. Karp would have been strengthened. However, such evidence is nowhere to be seen, leaving Dr. Karp's conclusion: Interview is a much more accurate approach non-persuasive.

In the limelight of all these missing evidence, though Dr. Karp has attempted to provide a potentially plausible argument, to come to the conclusion that Dr. Fields finding was errant and Interview is a superior method of research in comparison to Observation seems unreliable.