The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the rapid technological advancement of Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence, it is natural for people to wonder if machines will supplant humans in the near future. Some even fear that the accurate, diligent and efficient machines will soon take over the job market, skyrocketing unemployment. However, others, including the given prompt, maintain that these inventions will only facilitate the improvement of human beings’ quality of life in the near future where humans and machines coexist. While machines can become better than some humans in a particular area, I believe that that machines support rather than compete with mankind and humanity’s mental capabilities will continue to remain exceptional.

Unlike humans, machines are usually created with a specific purpose in mind. Thus, they are more likely to excel in their goal than humans, whose role in life is multifaceted. Moreover, while a machine may start serving its purpose as soon as it is created, humans require a significant time after their birth to figure out their purpose. For instance, certain supercomputers have been known to beat even the chess-masters-the finest player among all humans. However, the same supercomputer might be unable to beat the same chess master in a running race- as it might not have the mental capacities required for running such as vision and precise movement. In contrast, a majority of humans have developed such capacities in a stage as early as infancy. Thus, even though certain machines are proficient at a specific task, the variety of mental capacities that human beings possess is unmatchable.

Moreover, as machines are made by humans, the capabilities of machines are limited to the resources of their creators, which is scarce compared to the combined mind of humanity as a whole. Human knowledge is ever evolving with new research advancements and creations emerging every single day. Continuous learning is a natural process for human beings. Machines on the other hand, are mostly limited to the initial functionality or instructions provided to them. Even the machines capable of learning are restricted to the information provided to them. For instance, the cutting edge language processing model, Chat GPT, though able to help humans in a myriad of day to day tasks, is unable to provide information regarding even the most well-known event after 2021. Therefore, the unlimited learning potential of human minds which continuously adapts and innovates is unparalleled.

In additional to logic and reasoning, human mind also exhibits unique capabilities of emotions, philosophy and ethics. For example, human beings have the ability to experience joy at the smell of rain or the sorrow at the loss of a loved one, which might just seem bizarre to a machine. Similarly, they ponder at several philosophical and ethical questions like “What is the meaning of life?” and “What brings value to life?”; Such abstract concepts are incomprehensible to machines, who are designed with a specific purpose in mind. Even with the attempt of brilliant professionals, breaking down those concepts to logical components is simply not possible. Hence, with the ability to comprehend abstract concepts and experience complex emotions, human mind are far more complex than machines.

Being designed with a specific purpose, machines have several advanced capacities which allow them to greatly increase ease and convenience of human life. In the tasks they are designed to perform, their ability might sometimes surpass humans. However, with the variety of mental capacity, continuous learning ability, and capacity to experience complex emotions, as well as comprehend abstruse topics, make the human mind much more incredible.