The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.
“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and
concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village
rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children
living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more
time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This
research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid
and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying culturesis invalid as well. The
interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will
establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other
island cultures.”
Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the
argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.
The assumption stated by Dr Krapp in this paragraph allow him to invalidd the previous conclusion
made by Dr Field. While we do not have a lot of information to attest the validity or not of Dr Field
assumptions, we think that the way Dr krapp stated his conclusion suffer of some authenticities.
First, there is no any information about the differents questions that have been asked to the children
of the island.May be in the survey or questionnaire there is a yes or no question without any details.
If the questions were more detailed it may help the children a more concise ansxer and by the may
give a more accurate answer.
Second, the two survey have been done in different period.So it can be difficult to comprare the two
results. Also, there is no proove that both of them discuss with the same children set or if the
children they talked to where representative of the population. Moreover, talking more about there
biological parents than other adults of the village does not necessary mean that they were reared by
their parent than other adult of the village. This actually is not suffiicent to contradict the conclusion
made by Dr Field.
Moreover, it is not because the conclusion of a reseach is invalid that the method that has been used
is not also accurate. Actually, the method can be the best one and due to certain mistake of
computation the results become invalid.In other to state the inadaptivity of Dr Field method, Dr
Krapp should consider all the reseach process.
Add, there is not sufficent information on the interview centered method used by Dr Karp.The way
the method is shaped is not define as well as the type of population it has been applied too.
To sum up , the assumption made by Dr Karp according to which the observation centered method
used by Dr Field is invalid can not be accepted as presented in condition that more details have been
given to both reasearchers technics.