The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this argument, Dr. Karp, concludes that his research using an interview-centered approach provides a more accurate understanding of how specific islands raise their children. Dr Karp states that this research disproves the conclusions made 20 years ago by a noted anthropologist, Dr. Field, who used an observation- centered approach. Dr Karp's argument is contains numerous flaws due to vast assumptions, a lack of evidence and a consistent use of vague terminology, which makes his conclusion impossible to validate.

To begin, Dr. Karp states that his research disproves the conclusions made by Dr. Field 20 years ago. There are a lot of changes that could have occurred in 20 years that make the comparison in conclusions weak. Dr karp would need to address these possible changes and show how they do not weaken his argument. To do so he would have to address the areas of weakness and disprove them. For example, 20 years ago what was the sample size that Dr. Field was working with? He observed children on one specific village names Tertia; how long did he make these observations? What could have changed in the lives of the children and villagers then compared to the time when Dr. Karp did his research? Maybe 20 years ago, there was a smaller population and therefore the communities were close and supported each other more. Currently when Dr. Karp did his research were the population sized much larger and therefore children stayed closer to their own parents due to safety concerns? Dr. Karp needs to provide evidence that 20 years ago the circumstances were the same and the time when he did his research to strengthen his argument that Dr. Field's research is invalid.

Additionally, Dr Karp argues that children talk more about their biological parents and therefore that means that Dr Karp's conclusion is false. Because a child talks more about their parents does not mean that other villagers did not raise them. Children could be talking about their parents due to spending more time with them and having the desire to share stories. This is not strong enough of an argument to prove that other villagers did not raise children. Additionally, as a child's memory develops closer to the age of 4 and on, what if villagers helped raise the children and the child simply does not remember? If the author wants to suggest that because children talk more about their biological parents in interview-based research that other villagers did not raise them, then the arguer needs to address and provide evidence related to the above asked questions.

Finally, Dr Karp additionally argues that his interview-centered method is more effective that Dr. Field's Observation-centered method. This conclusion is not valid due to the vague terminology. How many children were interviewed, and how many children from the specific island of Tertia versus the other unnamed islands were interviewed? Do the numbers compare to the numbers and time that Dr. Field spent researching 20 years prior? If the arguer wants to strengthen his argument, he will need to provide more evidence regarding the way he completed his interview-centered approach.

In conclusion, after reading and analyzing the author's argument it is apparent that due to a lack of evidence, vague terminology, both backed by unquestioned assumptions, the author's conclusion is invalid. In order for the argument to be reliable, the author needs to provide further evidence related to the time period 20 years ago to the current day and the ways in which his interview-based research was completed and how he came to his conclusions about child-rearing in the islands.