The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist. “Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

The article has many gaps that need to be filled correctly. Some parts are vague, and Dr. Karp didn't explain exactly the arguments that he put forward. The observations done by Dr. Field is not clarified precisely, as Dr. Karp only mentions the conclusion of the research, and doesn't describe what processes does the research contain. Moreover, based on which perceptions and results does Dr. Field come into the conclusion that children in Tertia had been reared by an entire village, rather than by their biological parents. Furthermore, Dr. Karp does not discuss the gaps exist in the earlier research, and he simply refuses to accept its validity.

Moreover, Dr. Karp should state his research more accurately, since he only mentions that he recently interviewed some children living in the group of islands including Tertia. In his statement, he should mention exactly the number of children he chose for his sample if he used any sampling method. Besides, he talked about neither the population of children he chose nor the sample chosen by Dr. Field; thus, we cannot make a comparison between these two to decide which one is better.

In addition to not expressing the population, he doesn't explain about the interview. He is expected to say what the questions of the interview were, how these questions were asked, which parts of those islands were selected for interviews, etc. Researchers may only ask those children to talk about their parents, and they didn't ask any questions about other adults in the village, or they didn't ask sufficient questions.

Finally, it is not obvious from the conclusions of Dr. Karp what prominences his observations have over the other research done by Dr. Field. What principles did his research group have, which makes their outcomes about the child-rearing tradition to be more accurate. There need to be a proper bias or index based on which, we can make an appropriate decision about which observation is more valid than the other.

In conclusion, we cannot simply say that somebody's work is not able to be trusted. Instead, when we want to disprove research, enough data needs to be prepared so that the refutation would be trust-worthy.