The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument written by the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, it is deduced that due to increased positive reviews and decreased attendance to Super Screen produced movies, the general public is not aware of the presence of these good quality movies. The author propounds that this can be resolved by Super Screen putting forth more money from their budget into reaching the general public through advertising. Although an increase in advertising could increase the amount of visitors to such movies, the argument is flawed as it rests on vague terms, assumptions and a lack of evidence. Many unanswered questions need to be addressed in order for the author's conclusion to be valid and reliable.

To start, the argument rests on a report that was completed by the marketing department. Per the report, less people have attended super-screen produced movies even though positive reviews have been increasing. This report cannot be used as valid proof in this argument as it uses vague terms and does not discuss how the conclusion was found. The author would need to address how the report was completed; as well as how many movie screenings were included in the report? How long was the behavior tracked to come to the presented conclusion? Were the people tracked in one city or nation wide? How many movies were tracked; were there less people due to the genre of movie observed? As is apparent by the vast amounts of questions, to use this report as the basis of the author's argument is not plausible do to its extreme vagueness. If the author addressed these points in the argument, the conclusion would be more reliable than it currently is.

In addition to using vague terms when citing the report, the author assumes that the contents of the positive reviews are not reaching the public. The author continues to hypothesize that this is the reason of decreased viewers in the past year. The author uses these questionable assumptions to continue to contend that therefore the quality of the movies is not an issue. There are many concerns with the way the author presented these points, as they are assumption backed up by assumption with no evidence. For example, how does the author know that the contents of the reviews are not reaching the public? Maybe they are reaching the public and people are still choosing to go see other production's movies due to location, price, and quality? Additionally, what if the positive reviews have increased because there is a new money gift for reviewers? In order for the argument to be reliable, the author should address these questions; the answering of such questions can lead the author to a stronger argument.

Finally, the author concludes that due to all the presented information, the budget of Super-Screen needs to change and a higher portion should go to advertising to the general public. This conclusion is built on too many assumptions and unanswered questions to be valid. The author should provide readers with the numbers of the current budget to even see if a change in allocation is plausible. What if the budget is already currently tight and in order to allocate more money to advertising, the production company would have to take away money from quality control? This could in fact continue to decrease the number of viewers from watching Super-Screen movies. If the author defines the terms of the budget and can show that it is plausible to do so, this will strengthen the argument.

In conclusion, although the author is attempting to find a solution to the decrease in viewers attending Super-Screen movies, the argument and points used to do so are flawed; they use vague terms, assumptions and a profound lack of evidence. It the author addresses the many questions discussed above, including those about the report, the reviewers reaching the public and if adding more budget to advertising will decrease the quality of movies, then the author will have a stronger argument.