The following appeared in an article written by

Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist,

visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his

observations that children in Tertia were reared by

an entire village rather than by their own biological

parents. However, my recent interviews with

children living in the group of islands that includes

Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than

about other adults in the village. This research of

mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about

Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures

is invalid as well. The interview-centered method

that my team of graduate students is currently

using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate

understanding of child-rearing traditions there and

in other island cultures.”

Dr. Karp, in his article, claims that his interview-centered approach to studying cultures is superior to the observation-centered approach adopted by Dr. Field. To support his claim, Dr. Karp tries to contradict Dr. Field's findings that the children of Tertia were reared by an entire village. According to Dr. Karp, the evidence opposes these findings and shows that it is actually their biological parents that are responsible for the children's upbringing. However, Dr. Karp's argument is full of assumptions and lacks evidence as discussed below.

Firstly, we see that Dr. Field had performed his observations twenty years ago whereas the interview is recent compared to it. Twenty years is a great deal to time and a lot can change in twenty years. Not only that but also the fact Dr. Karp interviews the children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia. It might be the case that only the Tertian children are raised communally whereas the children from the islands are raised by their biological parents.

Moreover, we don't know anything about the interview. The argument talks nothing about how many children were interviewed, or what were the questions that were asked to the children. It might be possible that not a single child from Tertia was interviewed. And is that is the case, Dr. Karp's argument cannot prove Dr. Field's observations invalid. We also don't know anything about the questions asked in the interview. If the questions that were asked revolved more around the biological parents, then the children would clearly speak more about their biologicals parents.

In addition to that, Dr. Karp assumes that simply talking more about biological parents in an interview implies that the parents have a

larger role in the children's upbringing. This makes for a fallacious argument as it contains an unwarranted jump in logic. There is no evidence provided to link the two and under no circumstances can this conclusion be drawn simply on the bases of time spent in talking about the parents. More concrete evidence is required to confirm that indeed it is only the biological parents that are responsible for the rearing of the children in the village. If no such evidence is found, Dr. Karp's argument will completely lose its merit.

Therefore, we can see that Dr. Karp's argument as it stands now can not be taken at its face value. Not only is the evidence severely lacking, but the flow of the argument is fallacious as well. Therefore, a lot more evidence and a more cogent line of argument are required if we are to compare the two methods of studying cultures.