The following appeared in an article written by Dr.Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr.Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other islande cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author advocates that the observation-centered approach used by dr. field is less invalid than the interview-centered method adopted by his team. To substantiate this conclusion, the author points out that dr. field observed that children in tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their biological parents 20 years ago, while dr. karp recently proves that children living in the groups of island that include tertia spend more time talking about their biological parents, using an interview-centered approach. although it may seem reasonable at first glance, the conclusion, however, is rife with assumptions and holes. The evidence for the support of the assumptions given is inadequate, thus making the claim not convincing enough to lead to the conclusion that the interview-centered approach outperforms the observation-centered one. My reasons are stated as follows.

A paramount problem involved in this argument is that the arguer simply assumes that the situation nowadays remains the same as the situation twenty years ago. although this might be entirely possible, the author offers no solid evidence to substantiate this crucial assumption. it is very likely that tertia has changed significantly over the past 20 years. For example, the village adopted a Western-style family structure and children are indeed reared by their biological parents when dr. karp pays his visit. therefore, unless the author gives crucial evidence that the situation is primarily the same between it is recently and it was 20 years ago, the assumption is not solid enough to draw the conclusion that the observation-centered approach is overshadowed by the interview-centered one.

Additionally, the arguer assumes that the islands near tertia have the same culture as tertia's. Nevertheless, neither any conclusive scientific evidence nor any anecdotal evidence is provided to substantiate this important assumption. As a matter of fact, great possibilities are that there is no relation between the cultures of villages inside the group of islands. therefore, unless the arguer can supply more specific evidence like the results given by the interviews only inside tertia residents or solid evidence that the nearby village has the same culture of rearing children can he makes his argument more strongly bolstered.

Finally, even if the foregoing assumptions on which the conclusion is based can be substantiated by the author, the argument merely relies on the unwarranted assumption that the results of his study can be safely extended to the conclusion that interview-centered methods are inherently more valid than observation-centered ones. In fact, more careful evaluations are needed to support the validity of this extension. To be specific, more studies should be involved and the study designs might also be carefully examined. it is possible that dr. field did not conduct an effective observational study while other observation-based ones could be effective. In order to affirm this grandiose claim, the author really needs to provide more additional evidence to validate the applicability of his result to a wider conclusion.

To sum up, there are, as I have presented, many obvious flaws that need to be addressed and much crucial evidence that needs to be provided before the conclusion can be seriously scrutinized. Otherwise, any impetuous extension of the results of the study to the anthropological framework would be unlikely to have accurate conclusions.