Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education in today's society is of greater and greater importance. It has been the center of debates for educational institutions to decide what measures should be taken to prepare students for their future. Some claim that those institutions should encourage students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers. While it is true that making enough money is a fundamental standard for looking for a job. From my point of view, however, education institutions should encourage students to pursue the fields of study based on the need of society as well as themselves.

Admittedly, education institutions' encouraging students to pursue those lucrative careers is reasonable, which can help students to be accustomed to society and expeditiously achieve secular success. In society today, people tend to adopt simple measures to define the success, one of which is the money you make through your enterprises. Given education institutions guiding students to choose those economical careers, the fundamental needs of those students will be well met and the students are more likely to become opulent, thus becoming venerable and enjoying a material-rich life. this will undoubtedly benefit students in the short term.

However, when it comes to students' whole life in the long run, this decision may limit students' views and horizons, making them feel that money is everything, which will impede them to pursue a high-minded personality as well as contribute to the human society. Doctors generally do not earn very much under the current medical system, compared with such lucrative occupations as software engineering. however, if no one chooses the medical career, who will save the lives of millions of dying people in the world? Jacky Ma's story serves as a good example in support of my opinion. Had he not chosen to forbear an extremely impecunious life to start a new company and continued his job as an English teacher, which seemed far more economic at that time, Alibaba would not be constructed, let alone thrived to become one of the most successful enterprises nowadays. In this sense, educational institutions' such actions may efface students' otherwise intense and pure passion and ideals, impeding them to pursue an otherwise greater success, which is undoubtedly contradictory to their original goals.

As a matter of fact, the essence of education is to fan the sparks of students, making them realize themselves and get a deeper understanding of themselves, thus fully tapping their potential. therefore, the duty of educational institutions is not to force them to go on the right track pre-defined by the mainstream of ideology standards, but to help students realize their true interests and shape their own definition of success, and strive to accomplish their goals. through this process, students are more likely to achieve success at a higher level, which will generally not contradict economic independence. interests are the best teacher. if students are encouraged to delve into the fields that they truly like, the love and passion from the bottom of their heart will undoubtedly serve as incentives for them to make earnest efforts towards their goals. this will inevitably increase their chance of success, let alone make a lot of money.

To sum up, the policy's undesirable results outweigh the desirable ones. therefore, I believe that educational institutions should encourage students to find their interests and make decisions on what fields of study on their own. this will benefit students not only in the short term but also in the long run.