In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

How to progress on specific problems is of great importance. The statement suggests that progressing in any situation requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view. While it is true that debating can help us to make progress in some way, the argument is too absolute and requires more consideration.

Admittedly, confronted with opposing opinions, it is more likely that we get a better and deeper understanding of our own opinions. it is through the process of being questioned and argue back compellingly that we can hold a firmer belief of our opinions, discover potential flaws and improve the current solution more targetedly. For example, countries can advance their relationships through the consensus achieved by debating with originally opposing points of view. Researchers can improve their knowledge and broaden their horizons when they are in an academic debate and thus more likely to reach the final truth.

that being said, it must be pointed out that discussing with people who have contrasting points of view has risks and may lead to contradictory consequences. In other words, those who are not tenacious may fail to persist their original goals through the discussion with people who are against them and forgo their otherwise successful plans. our society abounds with such examples, one of which is the partner of Steve jobs, Ron Wayne. he created Apple with jobs, but others' criticism and questions impeded him to continue on his original dream. instead, he dropped out halfway, and now he still leads an impecunious life. Although we cannot blame Ron for his decision, but if it were not his discussion with people against his idea, he would not give it up halfway. therefore, for those who tend to be obedient to others' voices, it is not wise to discuss with people who hold contrasting views, which may neither provide inspirations nor strengthen the belief. instead, it is more likely that they concentrated on their works with a simple mind, regardless of the external voices, to make progress in a down-to-earth way.

From my perspective, whether progress requires debating or not is circumstantial. To be specific, it not only depends on the individual but also on the problem itself. when the problem is encompassing, involving the profits of many sides, it is much more prudent to discuss with those with a contrasting idea, since the process will drive such benefits as discovering the potential risks and forestalling the loss in time. On the other side, if the problem is rather individual and the decision-maker is not tenacious enough, such discussions can bring a dilemma, forbidding people to insist on their dreams and reducing them to pedestrian. therefore, it is unwise to draw a hasty conclusion on whether making progress, in any situation, requires debating with people who are against you. it depends on the circumstances and situations whether such discussion will serve as obstacles or pave your way to the goal you want to achieve.

To briefly sum up, we must concede that discussing with opponents can have some benefits, but it also involves risks. we should bear in mind that whatever we want to achieve, it is always important to believe in ourselves. therefore, even those opposing ideas can serve as helpers rather than impediments on our way to success.