The following appeared in the City Council Proceedings section of the local newspaper in Smithville.

"The city council of Smithville has recommended making changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes include hiring more police officers, budgeting more funds for police overtime, and directing officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility would significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer."

The city council of Smithville believes that changes in police procedures would significantly lower the crime rate of their town and increase citizens’ feeling of safety. The changes proposed include hiring more police officers, budgeting more funds towards police overtime, and directing officers to patrol more often on foot rather than from patrol cars. While safety is a valid concern for any town, based on the changes proposed by Smithville’s city council, there is not significant enough evidence to make their argument convincing.

The city council’s first improvement is to hire more police officers to deter crime and make the citizens feel safer. While more police officers could do just that, there is nothing in the City Council Proceedings that states where the town will get the additional funds necessary to hire more police officers. If the city council provided a budget proposal of where they were planning on getting the additional money, their argument would be better backed.

The second change that the city council proposed is to budget more for police overtime. If the police were working overtime, there would be more police actively on duty throughout more of hours of the day. While this could deter criminals, it would be better supported if there was data on when during the day crimes are most likely to be committed. For example, if the police are working overtime, but during hours that are not typically prone to criminal activities, the police working overtime may not contribute to a lower crime rate in Smithville. Even more fundamental, this change assumes that police officers would be willing to work overtime, even for the additional pay. If an officer has been working certain hours, he or she may have other commitments during off hours that would not allow additional hours to be taken on.

The city council’s third point is to direct officers to patrol more on foot instead of from patrol cars. Police officers on foot could make them more visible to citizens, therefore contributing to their feeling of safety, but the city council provides no evidence that this is the case. An officer in a patrol car may be more apparent to citizens, and if they do not notice officers on foot as much, the change will not contribute to the citizens feeling any safer. The city council’s argument would be strengthened if there was an interview in which they received opinions from citizens that a police officer on foot would increase their feeling of safety versus a patrol car.

Overall, the city council of Smithville’s argument that their proposed changes will lower the crime rate of their town and increase citizens’ feeling of safety is not convincing. An addition of more police officers would be more plausible if they provided data on where the additional funds would come from. Additionally, moving funds towards police overtime could be effective if the overtime that police were working was hours that crime commonly takes place. Finally, police officers on foot would only increase citizens’ feeling of safety if the officers were noticeable without their patrol cars. Considering the changes that the city council of Smithville provided and without additional information, their argument is not convincing.