Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

Progress is a controversial issue because, on one hand, it could be viewed as necessary to remain relevant in society, but on the other hand, it could pressure society to make changes that are not necessarily for the better. For any society to become great, though, it is important that it strives for progress in order for it to stay current and thus relevant in the future.

Technology is constantly changing, and will continue to rapidly evolve, due to the highly lucrative market and the fierce competition between companies. For example, the competition in the cell phone sector has pushed companies, such as Apple, to release a new smartphone twice a year. Consequently, to keep up with the new technology, people are pressured to replace their old phones with the newer model more frequently. In order for a society to stay current in a world with fast changing technology, it is necessary for it to embrace progress.

In addition, it is important for a society to aim for progress in order to stay relevant for the future because just because one society is not aiming for progress doesn’t mean others are not. In the world today, the United States is currently competing with China to produce better technology and research. It is necessary, in order to remain a great country, for the United States to continue and strive for progress.

The old saying to not try to fix something that isn’t broken would apply for those who would say that progress is not necessary to pursue in a society. In defense of progress, it is often easy to become complacent with what the norm is and to be blind to deficiencies in what is comfortable. While something may not appear to be broken, or may not even be broken at all, in striving for progress, it is possible to find an even better way of doing something.

While some may fear progress because of the unknown, it is important for a great society to aim for progress because of the potential future it could bring. It is through continued efforts in research, technology, and medicine that has greatly improved society’s way of life that we are fortunate enough to know today. Image how a continued strive for progress could impact future generations.