The following appeared in the City Council Proceedings section of the local newspaper in Smithville."The city council of Smithville has recommended making changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes inclu

The city council of Smithville believes has suggested to modify the police procedure to improve the visibility of the policy force. The author affirms that these improvements would significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens free. However, the author relies on unsupported assumptions about how would made this change to reduce the crime of rate. Therefore, the argument is fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.

Firstly, the author assumes that more police officers would reduce the crime rate. In fact, the author does not explain how a increasing of police officers would abate the crime rate. He does not specifies if, before the crime rate were rising because there were not enough police officers. Also, perhaps the old police officers were not qualified and these news police, may be have received a particulary training on how to arrest the thieves? However, it is not evident to confirm that this evidence. What are the strategies of police officers to give a confidence on a safety to citizens? How would be added? The author does not mention if the number would be efficace.

Secondly, the author testify that budgeting more funds for police overtime. Perhaps, police officers were not paid on overtime and crime rate were increasing day per day. Also, these funds could help to take the guards and put them in each quarter. We are not sure that this rising of funds would satisfy police officers because the author does not ask them. Maybe, these funds are for the specific police officers who usually have these skills to arrest the thieves and these amount are as plus value.

Thirdly, the author affirms that it is better for officers to patrol more often on foot rather than from their patrols cars. Maybe the area where there is crime, is not far from the office police. Or, sometimes, the city council noticed that when officers take cars to patrol, they do not do and crime rate rise. How would officers patrol ? And the author does not show how walk would impact for reducing crime rate?

As a result, the city council has to convince citizens that the police force and changing patrol procedures are advantageous for them to fight crime. And this memo has to need to show how the council arrived at this decision.