The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

Nearly 70% of employers blamed inadequate training for the shortfall in skilled workers, yet 70% of education-providers believe they suitably prepare graduates for the jobs market. Similarly, employers complain that less than half of the young whom they hire have adequate problem-solving skills, yet nearly two-thirds of the young believe that they do have such skills.

The author here talks about the issues faced by the employers in finding skilled workers. The above argument says that 70% of employers blame the training provided by the educational institutes for the shortfall of skilled workers, while on the other side 70% of education-providers claim of providing adequate training and preparing graduates for the market. The argument also states that the employers find less than half percentage of employees having the adequate problem solving skills wherein two third of the young claim to have the skill. In order to come to a conclusion for the above argument, the author is lacking with some statistics and data to make the argument stronger.

Firstly, as per the data stated by author on the claims made by employers and education-providers, seems to have loopholes and clarity about the data. Author has failed to mention the number of employers considered during the survey also the area of education institutes they hire from. On other hand employer has not specified number of institutes or education-providers involved in the survey, and whether they contribute to the same area or colleges the employers hire from. There might be case where the surveys might be taken in completely different regions or the institutes and education-providers involved in the survey and not been visited by the employers targeted during the survey. There might be a possibility that employers may get good skilled workers if they do hire from surveyed education-providers as claimed by them.

Secondly, to make the argument stronger, author could have provided data as what training the employers expect young to pursue to build the required skills. This could have helped to understand if the institutes targeted for the survey did provide the required training. If true then this would have strengthen the argument form the employer’s side. Due to lack of such data or lack of analysis of institutes before the survey weakens the argument raises various questions before jumping to any conclusions.

In the second part of the argument, author talks about the lack of problem-solving skills found in the young while two third of the young claim to have such skills. As the argument talks about the skilled workers not specifying any particular skill required by the employers, targeting one skill and providing data regarding the employee's efficiency in it cannot be considered as only factor of comparison. There might be a possibility that the employee lacking in problem-solving skill might be good at other skills required by the employer.

Looking into various points and loopholes in the survey and analysis doe by the author, the argument fails to decide on which area needs to be improved and whose claim among employers and education-providers is right. Hence the author should have a deeper study on the skills required, participating employers and education-institutes before concluding to the argument.