The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

On average, middle-aged consumers devote 39 percent of their retail expenditure to department store products and services, while for younger consumers the average is only 25 percent. Since the number of middle-aged people will increase dramatically within the next decade, department stores can expect retail sales to increase significantly during that period. Furthermore, to take advantage of the trend, these stores should begin to replace some of those products intended to attract the younger consumer with products intended to attract the middle-aged consumer.

In the above argument, author talks about changing the departmental stores strategy by replacing consumer products with the ones bought by middle-aged consumers to increase the sales in coming decade. Author derives this strategy on basis of various factors mentioned, such as that the middle-aged consumers spend 39 percent of retail expenditure to department stores where as the young spend only 25 percent. Secondly, author has mentioned that the middle-aged group people likely to increase within the next decade, expecting the retail sales to increase significantly during that span of time. Going through the article, one can find that the author needs to do some deeper analysis on the facts and figures and the trend of consumers before coming down to the conclusion.

In the argument, author has failed to mention the departmental stores considered before coming to the statistics mentioned for different age groups. There might be a possibility that the author has considered just one specific departmental store or all the departmental stores in the region. If all departmental stores are involved, then this surely strengthens the argument made. If this is not the case, this weakens the argument significantly. Here author need to mention about the stores taken into consideration for the survey and also the information regarding the age group population residing in the region.

However, talking about the young consumers and looking on the increase in popularity of the online retail marketing, there is a higher possibility that the young consumer get attracted to the availability, options and the discount provided by the online retailers on the products as compared to the departmental stores. As the demand and popularity of the online retail shopping is increasing day by day, there might also be a case in future that even the middle-aged group people would move towards online retail markets for their retail expenditure. This surely will affect the overall sales of departmental stores in the coming decade.

Coming to the statement made by author on increasing the products that attract middle-aged group in coming decade, there might be case where currently the young consumers have migrated to other places for various reasons like higher education or better jobs. Also in coming decade the scenario could change can find many young migrating to the region if the government has plans to get better companies or better educational institutes in coming future. Also the residing middle-aged population could migrate to other places due to various reasons. If any of these cases comes true, departmental stores might have more young consumers than expected, thus causing unavailability of sufficient product options in the store for each age group affecting popularity and the sales of the store drastically.

Looking into various points mentioned above, author should have a deeper analysis on the customer trends in the departmental stores across, better statistics on the population trend and migration trend. Also author needs to understand the growing online marketing demand and its effect on consumers and the departmental stores before signing down the conclusion.