The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

Two years ago Nova High School began to use interactive computer instruction in three academic subjects. The school dropout rate declined immediately, and last year’s graduates have reported some impressive achievements in college. In future budgets the school board should use a greater portion of the available funds to buy more computers, and all schools in the district should adopt interactive computer instruction throughout the curriculum.

The author claims that use of interactive computer instruction in three academic subjects have declined school dropout rate immediately, and last year’s graduates have reported some impressive achievements in college. Thus In future budgets the school board should use a greater portion of the available funds to buy more computers, and all schools in the district should adopt interactive computer instruction throughout the curriculum.The author conclusion is based on the assumption of certain events in school which certainly need some more evidence to proof the authors final argument.

Author first argument says that interactive computer instruction in some academics subjects have declined the rate of school dropout.But it not necessarily can be the only reason for decrease in drop out rate.Others factors like teaching quality, Scholarship scheme , better transportation facility , recreational facility etc can be the reason of the same.

Second argument is that graduate performance has improved since the implementation of computer interactive instruction.This also can't be necessarily true.Performance depends on teaching quality too.Also it is not mentioned that the performance of students has improved in those 3 subjects only in which interactive computer instruction was used.

Based on above two facts author claims that school should use more budget for buying computers.But unless other information about school is known like infrastructure , teacher per student ratio etc it is not wise to spend money on computer is school is lacking other basic requirements.Also, computer interactive study has more impact on subject like science in which students see various scientific things happening with their eyes.Not every subject have equal or great positive impact from computer interactive study.

Final argument is too far fetched and being generalized on the basis of some flawed claims.Although interactive computer tutoring has positive impact on students but several things must be looked before making such decision.Like budget of school, Infrastructure , teachers to students ratio, Practical labs etc.If these basic requirement is fulfilled then yes computer interactive instruction should be included in such school.