The following appeared as part of a newspaper editorial.

“Two years ago Nova High School began to use interactive computer instruction in three academic subjects. The school dropout rate declined immediately, and last year’s graduates have reported some impressive achievements in college. In future budgets the school board should use a greater portion of the available funds to buy more computers, and all schools in the district should adopt interactive computer instruction throughout the curriculum.”

Discuss how well reasoned... etc.

This argument claims that there is well defined correlation between use of computer in academics and student dropout rate. The arguments base its conclusion on two different phenomena, for which the argument fails to provide any support. This argument is unconvincing for various reasons and the reasons cited to establish the conclusion are ambiguous and not well defined. There are several flaws in the authors line of reasoning.

First, the author ignored the fact that initially interactive computer instructions were implemented only three in academic subjects. This fact clearly calls the conclusion into question, as one cannot predict or rely on partial evidence without knowing the complete scenario. In this argument, author fails to mention the total number academic subjects, student to subject ratio and student’s engagement with modified subjects. Without knowing any of the mentioned metric, it is not viable to conclude whether or not computer instructions are good enough to be implemented throughout the curriculum.

Second, the author uses support of the declining drop our rate after the implementation of computer instruction in three subjects. This support is clearly unconvincing as there could be multiple other factors due to which dropout rates have declined. This type of cause and effect relationship is unfounded if it is not based on defined evidence

Third, the argument mentions another phenomenon, with the help of which the argument concludes implementation of computer instructions as viable. This phenomenon is last year’s student’s achievement in college. The argument, without any evidence, correlates computer instruction with improved performance of students in past year, but fails to provide any backup claim to strengthen this correlation.

In conclusion, the argument is weak and depends on various assumption, for which there is not clear evidence provided in the argument. The author tries to establish a causal relationship but fails to convince the readers on basis of that causality. This argument could have been strengthened if the author would have mentioned total number of subjects and students engagement with each of the subject or evidence of those students who have not dropped out and are using computer instructions