The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college and university students, these institutions should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which students were closely monitored by teachers and an average of thirty cases of cheating per year were reported. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The editorial states that in order to combat the rise in cheating among colleges and universities, a honor code similar to Groveton college must be adopted. This conclusion is based on unstated assumptions which weaken the conclusion for the following reasons.

The newsletter states that after the adoption of the new honor code in Groveton college the number of cases of cheating have reduced over the years compared to when faculty members monitored the students. This premise is flawed as it draws a direct relation between the number of students actually cheating in the exams and the number of such cases being reported. The conclusion is based on the assumption that, since fewer cases have been reported by the students, fewer students are cheating in their exams. On the other hand, it is possible that more students are involved in cheating, but the cases have not been reported. If this is true then the conclusion stands water.

Moreover, as the honor code requires the students to report the faculty members, there is no way of determining the actual number of people cheating in the exams. It is likely that under the strict supervision of the teachers, fewer students copied in the exams. Since the honor code relies upon the students to report their fellow peers, there is no way to verify whether less number of students are cheating.

Finally, the author claims that majority of the students stated in a survey that they are less likely to cheat in the exams, if the honor code is in place. If the two reasons stated above stand true, then the students are more likely to prefer the honor code as it would allow them to easily cheat in the exam without the supervision of the faculty members.

In conclusion, if the author can provide sufficient evidence to the above claims, the author's assumptions will stand true and other colleges must adopt this honor code.