The following appeared as a letter to the editor from the owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza.

"Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The author of the letter concludes that the city council should lift its ban on skateboarding in the plaza. The owner states that there has not been much increase in the number of visitors and the littering and vandalism activities still persist. To further bolster his/her claim, the owner cites an example of Monroe Park where skateboarding is allowed. These claims made by the author are rife with loopholes. In order to support his/her premise the owner must answer three questions.

First of all, the author does not provide evidence on the number of increase in visitors. He/she states that there has been a small increase in visitors, but does not provide the exact figures. For example, if out of a total tally of 15 people, 10 more have started visiting the park, then although a small number in itself, but it constitutes a large percentage increase compared to the previous number of visitors. Hence in order to validate his/her claim, the author of the letter must answer, how many more people have visited the park since the ban, with respect to the previous visitors? or what is the percentage increase in the number of people ?

Secondly, the author fails to acknowledge whether there has been any decrease in such activities ?. The owner states that these activities still persists. But, it is highly probable that these activities have reduced as a result of the ban and only a few areas are affected. Perhaps, this corroborated the claim that there is an increase in the number of visitors in the park. If this stands true, then the authors argument stands water.

Finally, the owner further supports his conclusion by stating that Monroe Park faces no problems of littering and vandalism although, skateboarding is allowed. This claim is based on unstated assumptions. The following questions come to mind, is a penalty being imposed on littering and vandalising the park ? Are the skateboarders charged a high entry fee in order to skate in the park premises ? If the answer to the above questions is yes, then they provide a probable reason as to why such activities do not take place in the park. Perhaps, a penalty keeps the skateboarders in check and they refrain from littering and vandalising the property. Additionally, a high entry ticket has reduced the number of skateboarders considerably, which again leads to less nuisance. The author must answer these questions to provide evidence for his claim.

In conclusion, it is possible that the skateboarders are not responsible the actions but, the authors fails to address the above questions which make his/her reasons stand unwarranted thereby render his/her conclusion false.