The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum provided states that the television station must restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. This conclusion is based on some unstated assumptions and rife with holes.

First of all, the memorandum states that during this time they received many complaints from the viewers concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, it fails to explain the exact number of complaints received by them. It may be possible that they received ten complaints regarding the weather and local news coverage. But if we consider that the viewership of the station is a thousand people, then ten complaints is a relatively small number. Until and unless the actual figures are stated this assumption cannot be held true for restoring the time of weather and local news to its former level.

Secondly, one of the reasons for the change is that the local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with them. The author assumes that this is due to the changes made in the news timings. However, this may be possible due to many other factors. For example the television station might have increased their advertisement rates or the businesses would have found better prospects at any other station. The manager however fails to provide any strong evidence in support of his/her assumption.

The manager has based his conclusion on some unstated assumption. In conclusion, their are flaws in his assumptions which have been explained above. If the manager is able to provide some strong evidences in support of his/her assumptions, the claim might hold true.