The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college and university students, these institutions should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which students were closely monitored by teachers and an average of thirty cases of cheating per year were reported. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

The author of this editorial makes a suggestion that colleges and universities should adopt honor codes, a technique which was adopted by Groveton College to curb the problem of cheating students. He claims that implementation of honor code strategy, which urges students to quit cheating in their academic endeavors and report cases of cheating if they suspect any, would prove effective in discouraging students from cheating. The author has claimed that this technique has reduced the number of cheaters over a year from an average of thirty to merely fourteen in past five years. The author also cites findings of a recent survey in which students responded that they are less likely to cheat when an honor code is in place. The author seems fully convinced that an honor codes would be successful in dissuading students from cheating. However, this argument is based on several vague assumptions, which upon failure would undermine the author's suggestion.

First of all, the author supports the honor's code which blindly relies on the honesty of students. The claim that the students would quit cheating in exam just because of they have agreed to certain honor code, is preposterous. For example it may occur that all students agreed to the follow the code but later gave up abiding by it diligently. It may happen that want off securing better grades would tempt them to give up honor codes. The student's discretion cannot be trusted in this case.

Furthermore, the author informs the readers about the plummeting figure of number of cheaters in Groveton College. However, there is no concrete evidence presented to support this downfall. For example, what if the students continued cheating profligately throughout the past five years but these cases have not been reported? It is quite possible that a student agreed upon not reporting the cheating of other person in agreement that other student too would not report cheating case against him. It may even be possible that bullies in the class still continue cheating, but no other student dares to report it due to fear of hectoring. The author has completely overlooked such possibilities and has blindly endorsed honor code technique.

Moreover, the author states the findings of a survey, where majority of respondent students said that they would be less likely to cheat when an honor code was in effect. The author uses these student responses to persuade readers into thinking that honor code is an efficient strategy for curbing on campus cheating. However, these student responses are unreliable. They are merely feed backs given by the students and it is not necessary that they would follow them. For example, it may happen that the number of students stating that they would cheat is lesser than the number of students who actually happen to cheat. If they can cheat in an exam, they would not find difficulty in cheating in their response to a survey question.

Thus the author's claim that honor code strategy would be helpful in reducing number of cheating students in universities and college is absurd and is denounced completely. The author should have studied every aspect of this problem and should have presented better ways to overcome it rather than honor codes.