"Because of its spectacular natural beauty and consistent climate, Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire. As a bonus, housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and real estate taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Nevertheless, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. Retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

The author of this argument makes a recommendation of Clearview, a place which he thinks is an ideal choice for retiring given its spectacular natural glory and consistently favorable climate. He has claimed that house prices in Clearview have plummeted in past one year and also the taxes are lower compared to neighboring towns. The author informs the reader that the mayor of Clearview promises to improve schooling and infrastructure facilities in the area and also would work for enhancing public services. In addition to these appealing statements, the author claims a great number of physicians to be in Clearview, who can ensure better health services. Although the author's claim initially seems enticing, a deeper thinking elucidates it as baseless and ambiguous. The author's recommendation is based on promises and not on real figures and evidence.

Firstly, the author claim that Clearview would be the best place to retire for any individual due to its natural beauty is preposterous. The beauty of a place is not the primary criteria for choosing it as a retirement place. Other major criterias like proximity for health services and family, budget for buying house etc take preponderance over the natural beauty of a place while selection of retirement place. Thus the author lacks in presenting a convincing case.

Furthermore, the author states housing cost and taxes to be low in Clearview compared to other towns. However the author does not present a single evidence to support this claim. For example, if the housing cost in neighboring towns is high merely by few dollars, then the buyers would be unaffected by this. Also it may happen that the facilities provided in neighboring towns are better and hence the tax rates are high. In that case, the author's recommendation loses hold over majority of the readers.

Moreover, as per author the mayor of Clearview has "promised" to improve schools, street and public services. Two points can be noted from this statement. Firstly, this statement serves as evidence that the schools, streets and public services in Clearview are not top quality and they need improvement. Secondly, the sincerity of the mayor in fulfilling his promise is dubious. For example, what if the mayor is a highly corrupt person, who has little intention to enhance Clearview? In such a scenario, Clearview would be the worst place to be for any retiree who wishes to reside peacefully and happily after retirement.

The author later claims that the number of physicians in Clearview is far greater than the national average. The author again fails to show any significant data to support this claim. It may occur that the number of physicians is high just by a petty value. Also, even if the physicians in Clearview are more, it does not guarantee a better health to all its residents. It may happen that the physicians merely reside in Clearview and have their clinics and hospitals in neighboring towns.

Thus the author’s suggestion for selecting Clearview as retirement place is unacceptable and lacks substantial evidence. It fails to persuade the readers of this article in approving Clearview as ideal place to reside after retirement. The author should have presented relevant figures and data to support his stand.