"Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts, who are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public."

The progress of a nation is greatly determined by the political system that controls it. Such a political system needs to be laid on strong foundation of sound judgment and insight. In democracy the people vote for the party who they expect would bring change in their society and facilitate progress along with better safety and health. The winning party along with its leader then bears the responsibility of meeting expectations of the masses along with maintaining a balance among different groups. The leaders of such parties take vital decisions throughout their tenure. However, relying completely on them for decision making is detrimental to the national progress due to reasons stated below.

Firstly, a politician in power is in a position where his decision affects millions of people throughout the country. However if the politician is biased in his decision making, then the entire population would be affected. For example, Adolf Hitler, who drove Germany into war against the Allied powers during World War 2, favored his personal ambitions over the progress of his country. He thought himself to be a part of the superior Aryan race and that he deserved to rule over the world. Such shallow thinking engendered a selfish goal and ultimately led to down fall of Germany along with killing of millions of people. Thus, allowing the political decisions to be a making of politicians only can be dangerous. Their personal aims could infiltrate national goals which are formed for improving conditions throughout the country.

Furthermore, the world knows politicians as highly corrupt and greedy people. Although this does not apply to every politician, but if a law is passed to let only politicians and government experts be the ultimate decision makers then the risk of corrupt politicians and officials forming policies for amassing funds, favoring themselves or their supporters only cannot be denied. Such a rigged system may lead to lack of progress, racism, or even conflicts. Furthermore the corruption would leave country in unregulated situation where the rich get richer and poor get poorer. Economic turbulence in one country could damage global economics as well. To avoid such undesired outcomes, the policy decisions should not be made solely by politicians and experts.

Although it can be said of the political experts that they are more informed and aware of the political melee in a country compared to general public, the same cannot be stated for every politician. Moreover, it is unfounded that all politicians possess better judgment and perspective compared to general public. For example, in India, there are cases where high class politicians are not informed about the problems faced by their poor constituencies. There are even cases where politicians who are members of parliament hardly visit the national conventions. Also cases when people are voted into power due to their popularity in other fields like films, sports etc are common. It is quite possible that such people who newly join politics do not have complete understanding of the system and its working. In such scenarios, politicians may be unaware of the all problems which vex their nation and relying on such political tyros for policy formation would be disastrous.

Thus I do not concur with the claim that has been made in the topic. Also the reason is denounced as baseless and vague. What is important for over all progress of a country is formulation of a common national goals and working cohesively to achieve it through effective policies. Such policies need to be made in accordance with over all benefit of the nation and should be approved by majority public.