The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The evidence of given argument is not studied thoroughly. The author has derived the conclusion that the honor code system has been successful without considering enough factors. The author considers an ideal case which works well in some scenarios but in a big picture, he has not given attention to other facts and causes. The statistics of the argument is precise but many causes behind the result are neglected by the author. The author lacks knowledge about the importance of monitoring the examination by a person to detect or find out a cheating done.

The author assumes that every student studying in a college has ideal motives but it is not the case with students in this tough competitive world where each one wants to benefit himself only. Everyone is not trustworthy and cannot be trusted without any cross-evaluation. The honor code system assumes that each student will follow the code of conduct in any situation no matter even if the carrier of one depends by crossing the rules of it. A student will obey the rules but a friend will not. Students think beyond what is logical and rational, they work on the emotional level. So even if somebody finds his friend is cheating, he might not tell the authority because it is the matter of friendship and moreover his friend’s carrier. Also, it is possible that students will give false information to take rivalry against his or her enemy. Thus, the honor code system without any support for cross-evaluation of the information given by students is an injustice.

The author neglects other factors like level of education, quality of teaching, the difficulty of examination, etcetera which are completely unexplored by the author. These factors will equally influence the results of reduction in cheating cases. It might be possible that the level of education within five years has been ceased, thus students can perform well without depending to cheat in the examination. The quality of teaching might be improved exponentially so that every student is capable to gather enough knowledge and become smarter. It will eventually get him better grades and thus remove the need to cheat. The difficulty of examination is reduced within five years, thus by studying only a couple of days, a student can perform well as he does not need to thoroughly prepare each topic in minute detail because the level of questions will not be of that difficulty.

The author neglects the advantages of “old-fashioned system” which will not be present in honor code system. If an examination is monitored by an invigilator, even if cheating happens, he would be able to see the way by which cheating has happened. This will give more ways in which an old-fashioned system can become strict and eventually will be a fully non-biased system.

Therefore, the author has not studied enough causes and assumes an ideal system in which the honor code system will work.