The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and

universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not

to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others

have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely

monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per

year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students

reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen.

Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said

that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument

and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that in order to compete with the raising reports of cheating, all colleges and universities should adopt the new honor codes. The author provides some benefits to support his argument such as the less reported cheating, replacement of the outdated monitor system, and fewer students are intended to cheat in the exam. However, to further bolster his argument, more credence is needed.

The article claims that all colleges and universities need to enforce the honor code based on the positive result from the survey in Groveton college. Yet more evidence to support this claim is necessary since we are uncertain if these students are telling the truth or not. Nobody wants to admit that they cheat during the exam, especially students in the college. Also, even if students are telling the truth that they do not cheat anymore since the implementation of the honor code, it does not mean that their behavior change is not based on other reasons. It might because the penalty after their cheats in the exam are harsh, so students are worried about it and do not have the courage to cheat again. Therefore, mentioning the survey as the proof is untenable to say that implementation of the honor code leads to less cheating on campus.

The author also states that the enforcement of the honor code would decrease the number of cheating cases than the use of the teacher’s monitor. However, it needs more proofs to make sure that these students and teachers’ testimonies are trustable. Teachers might report more cheating cases than students since students do not want to get trouble to report cheating, so it seems teachers are reporting more cases than students. The exact place that students are taking the exam and the number of students who take the exam need to be provided to back up the argument. Consequently, more evidence about the right information of the exam should include.

Even if the honor code did decrease the number of students in Groveton College to cheat, it is tenuous to conclude that all other colleges and universities’ cheating cases would decline. The educational level of the college and the quality of their students are essential to know since different schools and students might have different numbers of cheating cases. Those high-quality universities always contain high-quality students, which means they have high self-management ability and they would not cheat on the exam. Some low-quality schools students might not control themselves that even though the honor code is implemented, they would keep cheating in the exam. As a result, it’s important to know the quality of the school and students so that the argument could be supported.

All in all, the author needs to offer far more evidence to support his argument that the truthfulness of teachers and students in Groveton college, the accurate place and number of students need to be informed as well, and the quality of the college and students are considerable.