The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded

from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their

own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands

that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological

parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's

conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach

to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate

students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of

child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument

and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this article, Dr. Karp states that observational research done by Dr. Field was not valid enough to substantiate children in Tertia were fostered by the village, not their real parents. To bolster the claim, Dr. Karp’s uses of interviews with the children found that they often mention their biological parents during the interview. However, some specific evidence needs to be provided by the author.

The first piece of evidence needs to be offered is that Dr. Field did his observations twenty years ago, how does Dr. Karp know that the village has not changed among these years? We don’t know the information about the possible changes in the entire village. For example, behaviors and people’s attitudes toward rearing these children by their biological parents might change. In the past, when village people were having more interactions with each other, and they lived close to each other, so every child could have meals or play with other village people instead of stayed in their own homes alone. Twenty years later, the village might become too big to live close to each other, so children might not meet other people every day, they need to depend on their biological parents to bring them up. Therefore, without the credence about possible changes of the village, it’s not indispensable to say Dr. Field’s observations are invalid.

The second piece of evidence that needs to be offered by the author to support his claim is the actual place when doing the interview because the article merely states it’s children living in the group of islands includes Tertia. What if the author’s team have an interview with children who are living outside Tertia? Children live in other parts of the island might not be Tertia, which could be other villages near Tertia. Also, children from different villages could have different cultures from Tertia that children live in Tertia might be reared by the whole village, but children from other areas would be brought up by their biological parents. Therefore, the interview’s location does not support the validation of it since they might do the interview with children do not live in Tertia, so more proofs about where does the interview take place is necessary to give.

The third piece of evidence that should be provided is the real interview questions the team asks the children. Without knowing the questions, we could not make sure that these questions are tending to lead those children to answer in a certain way. For example, if the question is to ask these children who cook more meals for them, they would likely to answer that their biological parents cook more meals. Also, even though these questions are known, we are not clarified how these children answer these questions. If they merely mention their biological parents more than other people in the village, it could not be inferred that their biological parents actually rear them. Accordingly, the exact questions and how these children answer these questions are necessary for us to know so that the claim could be substantiated.

All in all, the claim from Dr. Karp needs more specific evidence to be supported. The first one is that probable changes in the village should be determined. The second one is the exact location of the interview needs to be clarified. The third one is that the interview questions should be introduced. With these credence to support Dr. Karp’s argument would strength and valid it.