The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As per a health magazine published in Corpora, the reason behind the decline in physical fitness levels of Corpora’s citizens is not too much time spent on computers as experts suggest, but rather it has to do with the declining state of the economy. They cite the fact that the areas with the highest computer ownership also have the highest level of physical fitness, as well as the unusually low expenditure on fitness-related products and services as the evident for this reasoning. I believe there are three unwarranted assumptions which make this argument a weak one, and I will explain them in this essay.

The first is the equating of highest computer ownership to the highest time spent on computers, in the areas with the highest physical fitness. Owning more computers does not necessarily imply more time spent using them. What if the people who own the most computers do so because they have the resources for it vis a vis others who have the same or even higher degree of usage but cant afford to own their own computers? What if other areas have better availability of public computers in cyber cafés and similar establishments to support these needs? If these prove true, the first evidence to debunk the medical experts’ belief in computers being the reason behind the decline in Corpora citizens’ fitness level would be extremely weakened and not able to hold any water.

The second is also related to assuming the relationship between the high fitness levels in the areas with highest computer ownership. There could be a myriad of reasons why physical fitness is better in those areas than the others. It is possible that those areas have a strong public fitness system in place, with infrastructure and programmes, compared to other regions. It could even be the case that the majority population of these particular areas are communities which lay heavy emphasis on fitness, like athletes. If either one of these stands true, the presented correlation between high physical fitness and high computer ownership would be nullified and this argument would not be able to stand.

The third has to with assuming the reason behind the unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services is related to a decline in the economy. There could be many reasons behind this decrease in expenditure. Perhaps, there has been a decline in the demand for these products and services over the years, and the expenditure has been adjusted accordingly. Maybe, there were other pressing areas that needed funds on higher priority, leading to this decline. There can be even more reasons, but what this makes clear is that to make the connection that this decline in fitness-related expenditures is because of the economy, with the argument presented as it stands, is extremely unwarranted.

To conclude, this argument as it stands is quite weak and makes quite a few unwarranted assumptions. If the magazine could present more evidence in support of their argument to prove that the declining economy is the reason behind the decline in Corpora citizens’ physical fitness levels, it would be possible to build a stronger argument and analyse this argument more effectively.