“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The authors conclusively asserts to bridge that the economic improvements will lead to enhanced physical fitness state of a region's population. He/She provides the evidence to bolster his/her conclusion by stating the metrics of highest number of Corpora's citizens meeting the physical fitness criteria despite the number of computer's ownership being the highest. However, on a meticulous analysis of the author's statement the subject of relating the economic growth seems significantly flawed. It shall require to provide evidence for two more assumptions for comprehensive examination of the situation presented.

Firstly, the author assumes that the cities which are having lower numbers of computers are not spending much time on them in compared to the population of Corpora city. It is true that the Corpora City's population is having highest levels of physical fitness as per the current scenario while possessing largest numbers of computers. Does it imply that the population is keen on spending long hours of their times on computers as compared to other cities? Is there any evidence that having a device and excessively using adheres a direct relationship? It might be possible that the population of Corpora City is spending less hours on the computer screen and working out more often than the other city's population. Although less in number of computers it is quite possible that the people are spending large chunks of their time in offices busy staring at screens and are involved in more indolent activities in their spare times as opposed to Corpora City's population. If this notion were credible then the author's directly equating the number of computers with not hampering the physical fitness of individuals is flawed.

Secondly, the authors conclusively assumes that the economic growth will lead to major investment in fitness-related goods and inturn improve the physical fitness of the present population. It might be a case that with the advent of economic growth the society will invest in more lathergic measures to depriciate their healths rather than bolster the author's assumption. For instance, the high rising economy might lead for people who go to office by walk or by bicycle to prefer cars for thier commute. This may hamper their fitness levels. If this assumption holds any merit then the author's bridging the relationship of economic growth and physical fitness does not hold much water.

In conclusion, author's assumptions might hold merit in an ideal scenario where extrapolating a regions activities might be linear to a larger population. But speculating from a practical stand-point the unstated scenarios presented above must be cogently answered for thorough anlaysis of the problem presented to come up with a plausible solution to the physical fitness issue.