The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This health magazine in Corpora states that some experts’ assertion on the fitness quality of the citizens in Corpora. They maintained that the quality of fitness of the citizens are declining because people spending too much time using computers. However, the magazine belied this argument, announcing that the fitness levels as well as the computer levels are highest among the regions in Corpora, but the economy is declining. As a result, the editors asserts that the fitness level declining is due to the economy.

These consequences seem to be convincing at the first glance, but after scrutinizing it carefully, I find out that they are not cogent enough. First, the argument of both the experts and the editors are based on the fact that the fitness level declines in Corpora. This is because the percentage of citizens meeting the fitness standard declines. Nevertheless, taken the total amount of citizens into consideration, the number of people who satisfies the fitness requirement could be increasing. For instance, if the total amount of citizens were ten thousand twenty years ago, while it is eighty thousand now, then the number of people meeting the standard would be five thousand twenty years ago and twenty thousand now, showing a great mushroom of the fitness level.

Another assumption the editors put out is that the fitness level declining is due to the economy shrinking. It depend on the mathematical data showing the relevance of these two variables. Indeed, they are relevant, but the economy may not be the reason. For example, they could be both caused by a third variable, say the climate, and the other factors like the time and population also count. If the climate is bad, always raining, then the visitors will reduce and the economy will follow. On the other hand, people will not likely to go out, so their fitness levels decline.

To make the statements more rigorous, the editors should give out the total number of citizens who meet the standard in the past twenty years. Also, they need to eliminate the influence of other factors like the climate.