The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The study examined that there is a decline in the level of physical fitness in Corpora citizens compared to twenty years ago and this is attributed due to the reduction in economy. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies on assumptions which are not concrete. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and have several flaws.

First of all, medical experts have collected and analysed the data that the level of physical fitness is one quarter in that particular year compared to twenty years ago. There is no evidence that who these medical experts are? Does they possess equal level of qualifications to identify the level of physical fitness? Homogeneity in level of expertise is very important to determine the groups having problem with fitness. Secondly, the experts who have collected the data and assessed them twenty years ago, do the same or similar level of qualified experts have analysed the data is not mentioned.

Additionally, the experts made a strong correlation between the duration of computer use and fitness level. And again, this hypothesis was negated by the fact that computer ownership is highest among Corpora’s and the fitness level compared to other regions. No concluding evidences exist on this argument. It is still unknown if non computer users have low physical fitness level or not. Doing a proper research by taking both computer and non computer users and examining their fitness may help in finding the association between computer uses and fitness level.

Moreover, a stronger relationship was noticed between economy and the fitness substantiating the fact that economical improvement will help in increase in number of buyer in fitness related products and thus will enhance the fitness. Although, the citizens have spent least amount on fitness related products, no clear evidence exist corroborating the fact that whether decline in economy is really a potential factor for this? It may so happen that the citizens do not rely on fitness related products for improving their fitness and they believe on alternative methods such as yoga, morning walk to be healthy. So no clear relation exist on increase economy will have a positive impact on fitness.

In summary, the argument is flawed and unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author mentioned the relevant facts. In order to understand the current situation, a detailed analysis of factors and summon of knowledge is required.