The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's claim on the reasons for the fitness decline in Corpora citizens cannot be considered as totally apposite because of some vague assumptions.The medical experts survey is not clear which fitness factors it exactly purports. What is the age group? What are the methods used for the survey? These all questions are unanswered. Thus concluding the portion of unfit people would be tedious. Also the author mentions that earlier half of the citizens were fit. But are the standards set during that time unmodified? If not, what are the new standards used? These information's are also absent.

Moreover, author also claims that the fitness issues are found less were the computer ownership's are more. But the portion of people actually using the computers is not mentioned. If all are using the computers then for how much time? This question is also unanswered and thus ruling out the involvement of computers in affecting health factors cannot be justified. Along with this author also claims that launching new fitness products would ameliorate the fitness condition's among the Corpora citizens. But people will be interested to use these products is still a dubious assumption. What if the people of Corpora love the natural ways of getting fit? Thus, the author fails to correlate the fitness products and their extent of consumption.

Henceforth, author's claim that the fitness level will improve along with the economy has lot of loose holes and the action of encouraging high expenditure on fitness related products cannot be warranted.