The following appeared in a health magazine."The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they

In this memo, the author argues that the citizens’ lifestyle of Forsythe have positively changed healthier. To support this claim, the author points out that their eating habits changed to conform closer to government nutritional recommendations than 10 years ago, and reasons that sales of food products containing kiran has drastically increased. The author also reasons that this proclivity to kiran food product affected the decline of sales of sulia. The argument seems to be reasonable at first glance, neverthelss, the following investigation shows why it might be specious.

To begin with, the argument relies on the assumption that the past government nutritional recommendations were regarded healthy and maintained its healthiness until now. Yet the author provides no substantiating evidence for this assumption. Perhaps, the survey techniques 10 years ago were not that advanced as current technologies so that it is dubious whether the government nutritional recommendation was based on an accurate analysis within the reliable data of average citizen’s health. Even if it was held with sufficient accuracy, the argument is reasonable when the degree of healthiness of that recommendation maintains the same with its past one. Or perhaps, conforming to the recommendation in the past were relatively harder than now, because the life standard might not have been high enough to fulfill its requirements the recommendation gave. Thus lacking reliable evidence of correlation between conforming to government nutritional recommendation and citizens’ health is difficult to accept this hasty conclusion.

Furthermore, it is assumed that the drastic increase in sales of food products including kiran defines a definitive enhancement in citizens’ lifestyles, yet its internal logic seems questionable. Even if kiran helps people to get healtheir, the actual efficiency of kiran could be trivial. For example, many orange juices advertise that their product contains plethora of vitamin C but in fact, vitamin C is contained only 0.2% and rest of it are composed of compounds such as sugar and syrup which are unrelative with health. This advertising strategy might have been applied to the food product containing kiran also, eventually succeeding in increasing the sales. Therefore, in order to judge if increased sales of kiran actually helped citizens to become healthier, further proof such as the sales increase were unrelative with strategic marketing plan only for pursuing profits.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, further assessment whether the past government nutritional recommendations were regarded healthy and maintained its healthiness until now has to be proved. Also, we need to know whether the increase in sales of kiran actually helped citizens’ lifestyle get healthier with no disguise.