The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier. We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the health newsletter recommends using Nosinia, a herb, to help patients with acute allergy symptoms. He provides support for his recommendation providing evidences of the researchers’ report on the better efficacy of Nosinia than Placebo in providing relief, showing participants given Nosinia felt healthier than the participants given placebo. However, this argument, as it stands on surface is seriously flawed and these following three questions must be answered before evaluating the conclusion.

First of all, is the number of men and women, with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen, quite significant to consider it as a good sample point for conducting research? The author assumes that the number ‘95’ is quite high to represent a good sample for research. However, this may not be the case. This number can be quite low in comparison to be treated it as a good sample. If this is the case, then the research will not be reliable and result obtained by this will be faulty. The argument fails to consider this case and so it is seriously weakened.

Secondly, how the researchers reached such a conclusion that Nosinia is more effective than placebo in providing relief without providing necessary evidences of the specific severe allergy symptoms? The author prematurely assumes that Nosinia works for most of the severe allergy cases. In reality, this may not be true. It is quite likely that Nosinia only works for some severe allergy cases, the other cases are out of its bound. If this is the case, then the argument will not hold water.

Last, but not least, how the researchers reached to the conclusion that participants given Nosinia felt healthier than participants given placebo? The author assumes the absence of other factors that may be responsible for the well-being of the participants having Nosinia. However, this may not be the case in reality. Perhaps, some other factors and Nosinia jointly worked for betterment of the participants having this. The argument fails to provide evidence for this case and thus is severely flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answers to the above stated three questions and additional evidences to support his answers, then the recommendation for using Nosinia to cope with severe allergy symptoms can be properly evaluated otherwise it will remain seriously flawed as it stands on the surface.