The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing recommends shortening each of their three work shifts by an hour to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and to exile productivity. The vice president provides example of nearby Panoply Industries plant where the work shifts are one hour shorter than Quiot in order to support the recommendation. However, these following three unstated assumptions must be validated first in order to evaluate the argument properly.

First of all, the vice president assumes that only fatigue and sleep deprivation among the workers are responsible for contributing significantly in many on-the-job accidents. However, this may not be the case. Quiot Manufacturing may not provide salubrious work environment to the workers. It is very possible that the workers are working with great risk in their manufacturing work. It is very possible that the manufacturing instruments present in the plant can cause great damage to human if they are not properly handled which is unknown to the workers. The argument fails to address this issue and so is seriously flawed.

Secondly, the vice president prematurely assumes that the workers at Quiot Manufacturing have same level of experience as nearby Panoply Industries plant. In reality, this may not be true. Workers, who work in Quiot Manufacturing, may be novice workers who have very little experience with working sophisticated manufacturing instruments and so they can’t take safety measures properly. On the other hand, workers at Panoply Industries may be very efficient, have a lot of experiences in dealing with hazardous instruments and can take safety measures very quickly. If this has merit, then the argument will not hold water.

Finally, the vice president, without any evidence, assumes that the employees will use the free one hour more time to get adequate amounts of sleep. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps the workers can use the time to play cards, to watch movies or to gossip with other workers. They may use the time in unproductive works rather sleeping. The argument fails to provide necessary evidences for this case and so is severely weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is severely flawed as it relies on unwarranted assumptions which may be invalid. If the vice president is able to provide necessary evidences for the above stated three cases and conduct a more careful study, then the argument can be evaluated properly and accept the recommendation to shorten the work shifts by an hour. Otherwise the argument will not hold water and remain severely flawed as it is on the surface.