Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the decline in Arctic deer populations is the result of the deer’s inability to follow their archaic migration patterns across the frozen sea. He provides support for the conclusion by showing evidence of the decline coinciding with recent global warming trends that have caused melting of the sea ice. However, the argument is flawed and evidence must be provided for these three following cases in order to evaluate the argument properly.

First of all, it is important to evaluate whether they search for foods in multiple islands by moving over ice from island to island. The author prematurely assumes that food of the deer does not remain in a particular island rather it is dispersed in the islands. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that the plants on which the Arctic deer feed grows only on a particular island and if they can find the plants, they will stay on that island for the whole season without moving to other islands. The argument fails to address this issue and so it is seriously weakened.

Secondly, it is important to evaluate whether the local hunters who report on the decline of the Arctic deer are responsible for their extinction or not. The author assumes that the local hunters don’t hunt the deer in an excessive amount and thus don’t exacerbate the situation. This may not be true. It is very likely that they hunt for the Arctic deer very frequently. The argument does not consider this case and so it does not hold water.

Last, but not least, it is very much necessary to evaluate whether recent global warming has caused the sea ice to melt in Canada’s arctic regions where the deer live. The author, without any evidence, assumes that the regions where the deer live are also affected by global warming. In reality, this may not be the situation. Perhaps, the region where the deer live is still in pristine condition from the deleterious effects of global warming and the sea ice in the regions is not melting. If this has merit, then the argument will be seriously flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed due to reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able provide necessary evidences for the above stated three cases then the conclusion regarding the reason of decline of Arctic deer population can be evaluated otherwise it will remain seriously flawed.