The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The above newsletter article based on 2 surveys suggests that the government instead of encouraging usage of helmets for bicyclists must create awareness amongst them regarding safe cycling. This conclusion has been fueled by some of the half baked assumptions which have been made based on the surveys, which need to be clarified further. The author bases his argument on a ten year nationwide study regarding the effectiveness of wearing a helmet and the number of accidents cause by bicycling. The author cites several reasons to support his contention. The author’s argument seems convincing at first glance, but on further reflection, it is found to be rife with holes and assumptions.

The newsletter article refers to a 10 year old survey which states that at that time, 35% of participants claimed to be using a helmet, and now, it is upto 80%, source of which is unknown. The newsletter article suggests that there has been an increase in helmet usage by assuming the survey to be adequate. Now, there are a lot of discrepancies that might prevail in this survey, which may be like a limited participant base, false answers by people due to fear of law and even an improper definition of 'helmet'. This is because, as we see now there is a lot of variety in the designs available for helmets which can be selected. This survey might not be considering an abstract yet useful helmet design as a helmet. Further due to a probable low participant base, it is quite possible that the survey misses a wide section of the society which wears a helmet. So it is again quite probable that the figure of helmet usage might have been same during this time.

Furthermore the newsletter refers to another survey of unknown credentials, using which it has been assumed that cycling accidents have been increased. Again as we dealt above with that of the definition of a 'helmet', we see that there is a possible misunderstanding of what is meant by an 'accident'. The newsletter seems to assume that an accident must something fatal which can cause serious damage to the cyclist. But on the other side, we do not know the intensity with which the referred survey uses the term 'accident'. It could be the case that small falls, collisions which cause minor injuries be considered as an accident, as maybe this survey could have just observed cycle accidents which happen in suburbs.

Also this newsletter article seems to assume that the number of accidents has increased even with a possible increase in helmet usage. It says that there has been a 200% increase in the number of accidents. Now it can actually be proven to be normal due to the increase in number of cyclists. So let us just assume that 10 years ago there were only 100 bicyclists out of which only 20 suffered accidents thus the accident percentage being 20%. Now after 10 years, considering a 200% growth in the number of accidents, the previous 20 now amount to a 60. But now, considering the growth in the number of cyclists, the total number of cyclists can be about 300; thus again the accident percentage amounts to only 20% as that of before. Therefore, by rather overlooking the fact of increase in the number of cyclists, the newsletter makes some unwarranted assumptions.

Yet is quite questionable that was the 200% only due to risky cycling. It is quite probable that as times changed due to new developments like construction of highways near residential zones, increased car usage or bad roads, etc could also amount to increased accidents. The newsletter article thus again fails to assume external factors. Many such assumptions which can be easily seen like that of the overlooked discrepancies in the surveys, increased cycle usage have not been considered which make the argument presented in the newsletter quite invalid until proper facts are not put on the table