The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette.

"Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne`s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etonlin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The passage suggests that motilac is effective in preventing many gastrointestinal disorders. However there are several alternative explanations.

First, the reports from Greenhorne's five hospital can not prove that the decresing of serious gastrointestinal disorders is because of motilac. Since motilac supplements has increased over the last seven years, but hospitals only report the decreas of cases this year. It is possible that this is not because of motilac but other things. For example, the loacl government suggests that residents should live a healthy lives, because their publice health is in a bad contioon. And if residents being to live healthy lives, such as having enough sleeping time, eat healthier food and so on, it can also lead to the decreasing of cases. However, if it is because of the motilac, we should see a gradual decreasing of cases of gastrointestinal just like the gradual increasing of dietary supplements.

Besides, the passage mentions that motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human's body. So I doubt whether people need motilac supplements or not. Because we know that as for many substances which human can produce by themselves, there is no need to have extral supplements. For example, we know that human bodies have the ability to trans sugar into fat, so no one looks for fat supplements. In this case, I doubt whether those supplements are helpful or not.

At last, these trends can also be caused by other facts. Since they are hospitals in two different twons, and the climates of two towns can be different, these trends may have something to do with the climate change. For example, if Greenhorne people used to have a cold weather, and due to the climate change, their climate becomes warmer. The warm weather provide them with a better living condition and thus they have less cases. Meanwhile, if Etonlin people used to be a warm place with a good living condition, they can have less cases, but as the climate become even warmer, their living condition becomes worse and makes them have more cases.

In conclusion, although the explanation in the passage seems appealing, before solving the above questions and proving that the explanations of the above questions are erroneous, I hold my opinion about this explanation.