The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette.

"Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

A relationship between usage, purchase, and occurence of digestive disorders -an increased report of residents suffering from digestive disorder and a reduced report of residents suffering from same disorder- led the writer to clearly state that Motilac is effective in preventing digestive disorders. However, the writer’s explanations do not seem to solidify the conclusion. For the conclusion to be valid, certain alternative explanations need to be verified.

First, the writer’s conclusion is based on the assumption that no other factor or food supplement is responsible for the ease of digestive problem. It is possible that the Greenhorne residents are incorporating something else to their food or living a lifestyle different from that of the Etolin residents. Attributing only the high usage of the motilac-based supplement to their reduced case of digestive problems is not sufficient for the conclusion to hold. However, it is key to provide evidence that states that the motilac-based supplement is the only intake by the Greenhorne residents and no other intake or lifestyle.

Also,the writer assumes that the quantity of motilac in the human digestive system is not sufficient to ease digestive disorders. The explanation seems flawed for the fact that Etolin residents were suffering from digestive disorder. For example, If the substance occurs naturally in human digestive systems, Etolin residents might not experience the disorder since motilac has been attributed to ease digestive distress. Furthermore, an explanation that categorically states that trace amount of motilin that occurs naturally is not sufficient to manage digestive disorder is needed to validate the conclusion. Also, explanations that state the approved artificial quantity that augments the natural motilin is needed for the conclusion to stand.

In addition, the sample size for the research does not seem adequate to draw a conclusion. According to the passage, data from only 4 hospitals were used for the Greenhorne research while “notable” hospitals were used for Etolin residents. It does not seem to be a fair proportion of sample size to arrive at the conclusion. Take as an illustration, there is a potential that few residents visit the hospitals at Etolin and maybe the Etolin residents do not really suffer from digestive disorder and see no need to visit the hospital. Therefore, a clear explanation which will serve as an evidence is needed to ascertain that the sample size each from both populations was accurate enough to draw the conclusion.

Finally, the passage is flawed based on certain assumptions. More explanations and evidence are needed to support the fact that Motilac is responsible for improving the gastrointestinal systems. The evidence will help evaluate the passage and arrive at a more convincing conclusion.