Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the Internet is developing fast. I believe that It will benefit a country a lot if its government spends money to improve Internet access, which can not only help people who come from different parts of a country to communicate more easily, but also provide a country with to develop advanced technology.

First of all, communicating with people is always much faster through the Internet than transporting from one place to another place, no matter how good the public transportation is. By using some online meeting applications, people can discuss with all people all over the world within seconds. Just take me as an example. If I am reading a professional book which is written by a people who lives on another side of the country, and I have some question about a figure in that book which I can not understand. So, I can just send an e-mail to ask the writer about it. Then, I may have the chance to discuss with the writer to get the meaning of that picture using an online meeting application. This can be done much faster than public transportation, since even the fastest aircraft may still take hours to arrive at another city.

Secondly, good access to the Internet can also provide a country with the opportunities to develop advanced technology. For example, It's better to use robots to do some highly dangerous work rather than just let people deal with them at the risk of their lives. And of course, controlling a robot remotely requires a good and stable Internet connection, since lots of data are needed to be sent between the robot and the control center. Other aspects require a really fast Internet connection, such as VR technology and cloud storage technology. Only if the government spends money to help establish a widespread Internet access to all the areas in their country can provide the high technology company with a possible situation to research those technologies.

In that case, I believe that a country can develop fast if its government tries to hold the opportunities which are provided by the Internet. And all those opportunities can not be provided by the public transportation system.