The following appeared in a letter to the city council of Canbury from the president of Plexma Motors.

"I am pleased that the council is considering Plexma`s plans to open a new manufacturing site in Canbury next year. In addition to our regular line of cars, Plexma has also begun designing and testing a line of automated self-driving vehicles. In a recent survey conducted by local media, 60 percent of Canbury`s residents reported that they would purchase a Plexma self-driving vehicle in the future if they were confident in the vehicles` safety. We are happy to report that last summer, we tested our new line of self-driving vehicles in downtown Canbury with great success. Not only did our five tested vehicles remain accident-free for two months during testing, but in a survey conducted after testing, 90 percent of Canbury`s residents reported that when they were downtown and our vehicles were in operation they felt very safe. Because steady demand for our self-driving vehicles will create new jobs and thereby greatly benefit Canbury`s economy as a whole, I recommend that you vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling these vehicles in Canbury."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the letter from the president of Plexma Motors to the Canbury city council, the Plexma motors should have the permission from the city council to manufacture and sell self-driving vehicles. It is stated based on the safety of the self-driving vehicles and benefit to the city's economy. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three specific questions must be answered.

First of all, is the test driving comparable to the actual driving? It is a possibility that during the test driving, there were no other vehicles in the street or the lane was too wide. Perhaps, the testing vehicles were manufactured with additional care and precaution to prevent any accidents in front of the people. However, if these self guiding vehicles are launched in the streets, they may result in frequent accidents because of the heavy traffic or the average quality of those vehicles. If any of these situations has merits, the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, is the streets of downtown and other area comparable? It may be possible that the Plexma Motors cunningly chose the downtown roads for testing the self-guiding vehicles since those roads hardly have any accidental reports for manual driving vehicles. Perhaps, these people voted negatively when they saw the operations in other areas. If the above information comes to light, the conclusion that has been drawn from the argument will be undermined.

Last but not the least, how do the self-driving vehicles open new job opportunities? Although the author argues that self-driving cars will enable more work opportunities, it does not mention how it will be created. It is a possibility that, because of launching self-driving vehicles, people are no longer interested to hire drivers to drive the cars like as before. It may be possible that the on site traffic control system will no longer be required to maintain traffics in those roads. However, the city council may need to install digitalized traffic control system to track the road safety which may add extra costs. If any of the aforementioned points becomes true, the argument will be seriously weakened.

To summarize, the argument as it stands now, is riffed with many unwarranted assumptions and the author needs to provide answers (perhaps in the form of a systematic research) to the questions mentioned in the above writing. If the author can answer these questions with adequate evidence, the recommendations of the letter can be properly evaluated.