The following appeared in a letter to the city council of Canbury from the president of Plexma Motors.

"I am pleased that the council is considering Plexma's plans to open a new manufacturing site in Canbury next year. In addition to our regular line of cars, Plexma has also begun designing and testing a line of automated self-driving vehicles. In a recent survey conducted by local media, 60 percent of Canbury's residents reported that they would purchase a Plexma self-driving vehicle in the future if they were confident in the vehicles' safety. We are happy to report that last summer, we tested our new line of self-driving vehicles in downtown Canbury with great success. Not only did our five tested vehicles remain accident-free for two months during testing, but in a survey conducted after testing, 90 percent of Canbury's residents reported that when they were downtown and our vehicles were in operation they felt very safe. Because steady demand for our self-driving vehicles will create new jobs and thereby greatly benefit Canbury's economy as a whole, I recommend that you vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling these vehicles in Canbury."

The president of Plexma motors concludes that they should be allowed to start manufacturing and selling vehicles in Canbury. His assertion is based on positive responses they had received on survey and that their self driving vehicles will create new jobs. However, the author's conclusion relies on several unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. He should address the following three questions.

First of all, are the people surveyed representative of majority of Canbury's residents? It is possible that the survey received responses from a small group of people, say a couple of hundred responses, in a city with millions of residents residing. Thus the survey might not be able to capture the correct opinion of the vast majority of residents. Further it is possible that the positive responses they have received for buying self driving cars are from technology enthusiasts, which only correspond to a very small fraction of residents. If this is the case, their sales may not be as high as they might have projected.

Second of all, are the new jobs created by self driving cars more than the number of jobs it will replace? It is possible that majority of the residents in Canbury might not be qualified for manufacturing jobs. Perhaps Canbury's residents are mostly working in service based jobs and might not be suitable for the new manufacturing jobs that might be available in the Plexma's plants. Even if we assume that many residents are qualified for those jobs, it is possible that people from nearby towns and cities may also be attracted with the same job prospects, which may lead to lesser number of opportunities for Canbury's residents. Further, it is possible that the number of job losses that the self driving cars may induce, jobs such as drivers, may be more than the number of jobs it might create in its manufacturing unit. If any of these scenarios is true, residents may not want the manufacturing plant in their city.

Third of all, what will be the impact on environment by the manufacturing plant? It is possible that constructing a factory may require large areas which may be only available by clearing off forest areas near by the city. Perhaps residents may not be in favour of doing so, as the forests might be vital for controlling the already polluted city. Further it is possible that the manufacturing plant might require disposing chemicals and noxious gases, and many residents may not be okay with this as this may hamper with their health significantly.

In conclusion, the author needs to answer the above three questions, so that the viability of his argument of constructing a manufacturing plant in Canbury may be further evaluated.