The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involv

In the argument, the author states that the number of accidents involving mopeds would drop 50 percent if the number of rental mopeds were limited. To support his claim, he cites the achievement of the neighboring island of Seaville made last year. However, the argument presented by the author is based on unverified assumptions. Hence, the author needs to provide more evidence to make the argument more persuasive.

First off, the author states that mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation. Even if the rented mopeds are the main reason of accidents, after limiting the number of rental mopeds people might prefer to travel with car. Traveling with a car in a island is more risky than traveling with a moped, and if an accident were to happen the casualty would definitely be much more serious. Thus, this argument is unwarranted without excluding such probabilities.

Moreover, the author state that the neighboring island of Seaville achieved 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents last year. Nevertheless, the author fails to take into account other factors that might contribute to such situation. The weather, for example, is a crucial factor that might cause an accident. Or perhaps the sidewalk in the neighboring island is wider than Balmer island, and thus reducing the number of mopeds would be a great option to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds.

To sum up, it might be true that limiting the number of rental mopeds is an option. Yet, the author’s argument is built upon some assumptions that are not proven to be true. Therefore, the author should provide more details to support his argument. One example is hardly sufficient to form a general conclusion.