The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involv

The author has proposed a solution to a problem related to accidents occuring on the island of Balmer. The author claims that the main reason for the accidents is between the use of mopeds which is primary source of transportation and pedestrians. He suggests the council of Balmer island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season as the population increases to 100,000 there. He concludes that by limiting the number of mopeds the accidents could be minimised to 50% as the same solution was employed by Seaville's town council which is adjacent to Balmer island.

However there are many underlying flaws in the given argument. Firstly, moped is not the only source of transportation at Balmer islands, as it is not guarenteed that everyone uses it, there are many other transportation facilities like cars, buses which are little less expensive.So the author cannot assume that the mopeds are the main reason for the accidents to occur. There is lack of information about other vehicles used for transportation especially in summer,it is not definite that most of them use mopeds

Secondly, there is not enough explanation that mopeds are the reason for accident, it might be due to people's reckless driving, drunk and drive etc and there is no enough substantial evidence to support that most accidents recorded are due to use of mopeds. It is difficult to judge that reducing the use of mopeds will for about 25 a day will minimise the accidents occuring at Balmer islands.

Furthermore, the author makes a false analogy by comparing two different islands. He compares the town of Seaville to Balmer islands and fallaces that the same solution will provide good results but it is untrue. The population of Seaville is different compared to Balmer islands. More people might not be using the same transportation at Seaville. However,there is no enough evidence to say that the same result will be obtained like Seaville by limiting the moped rentals as two different islands are compared here.

Therefore, the author draws dubious conclusions based on false anology. The limiting of moped rentals might be one of the reason to reduce accidents but to say that its the only reason is fallacious. It would be evident if the author provided enough evidence to state his argument before making assumptions.